A Great Conversation

As you are wrapping up your week, think of the conversations you have had with others. How did you feel after you left the conversation? Did you feel empowered, drained, or apathetic? Whenever you have a good conversation you will walk away feeling inspired, empowered, or challenged. You will want to act upon what you have learned, write a thank you note to the speaker, or improve an area of your life that was discussed.

A conversation doesn’t have to be long to empower someone or motivate them. Read the following conversation and think of how you feel walking away from it.

“Someone asked me this week, ‘What is your why?’ I didn’t know how to answer them. I first said, ‘I need to earn money.’ As soon as I said it, I quickly realized that was the wrong answer.”

“Why was it the wrong answer?”

“I don’t do what I do because it makes me money. I do what I do because I love it and it is my passion. I do what I do because I can. Because it helps change lives. Because I love what I do and am passionate about it, I am able to make money doing it. Does that make sense?”

“Yes. If I understand you correctly, because you are passionate about what you do every day, people will seek you out and want to pay you because of the success you help them to create in their own lives. In return, you are able to provide for you family and yet feel like you don’t work in a position you hate.”

“You understood me exactly.”

What did you think? How would you feel if you were either person walking away from the conversation?

The person sharing his story would walk away feeling as though the other person listened. The person listening would walk away challenged, perhaps thinking about his or her own “Why.” Both people walk away fulfilled and like the other person also enjoyed and cared about the conversation. Each speaker allowed the other to finish his or her thoughts. This allows the person to finish his or her story without losing track of what he or she wanted to share. It is a good example of how people can influence one another through day-to-day interactions.

How can you apply this lesson to your own communication?Image

